Rob Cottingham annouces special appearance from Steve Hackett on his forthcoming album


Rob Cottingham is delighted to announce that the Rock Hall of Fame inductee, Steve Hackett, has recorded a guitar solo specially for his solo album, Captain Blue.

Steve Hackett is renowned as an immensely talented and innovative rock musician. He was lead guitarist with Genesis as part of their classic line up with Gabriel, Collins, Banks and Rutherford, that produced acclaimed albums such as Selling England by the Pound (a favourite of John Lennon) and has led a highly successful solo career since leaving Genesis in 1977, after his work on the Wind & Wuthering album, including the song penned by Hackett and Collins, Blood On The Rooftops - one of Rob's all time favourite albums and songs.

In a statement, Rob said "I am greatly honoured to have Steve contributing an awesome guitar solo to the last track of my solo album. I have been a massive Genesis and Steve Hackett fan since I was a lad, so for Steve to kindly offer up his talent has meant a lot to me, not just at a professional level, but at a personal level, too. The solo is stunning and so appropriate to the music and sentiment of the piece - I cannot wait for people to hear it!
This also completes the line up announcements - and what a line up, with myself on vocals and keys; Heather Findlay on vocals;  Adam Hodgson on guitars; Dr Goat Foot on bass and Gary O'Toole on drums, and a guitar solo by Steve Hackett and a narration by Shane Rimmer. In terms of talent - an embarrassment of riches!"

Steve has been extremely busy recently having recently accepted awards at September's Prog Awards for Squackett's Anthem with 'Life Within A Day' and a Lifetime Achievement award for Genesis.
Steve released the Squackett album with Chris Squire from Yes in Summer 2012, and he is presently promoting a brand new album, Genesis Revisited II, just released, and an album tour in Spring 2013, which includes a kick-off on the "Cruise To The Edge" Florida tour in March.  Details can be found on where pre-orders for the new album can be taken, and tickets for the gigs can be booked.

Steve was delighted to be involved in Rob's solo project stating "I very much enjoyed doing the solo for the end part of Rob's majestic Captain Blue."

For more information about the Captain Blue album, please see and a promo video, which can be seen on the new website as well as on YouTube, here ''.

You can also hear a demo mp3 on

Progress can be followed on Facebook and on Rob's artist page

You can also follow Rob on Twitter ''.

Press releases can also be found on ''.

Any press enquiries, interview requests etc to be addressed to Lycan Media at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Release Date & Pre-Order information

The album will be released on the Heavy Right Foot Records label in January 2013.

Customers who pre-order via the website  (

will receive exclusive access to "Captain's BLog" - a comprehensive 'Making of Captain Blue' archive - and will receive the album in advance of the general release date.


Share this on the web.

Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters

busy << Back

Member Login


<<  April 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 5 days ago
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.
  • Berny : @Adolfo: Pls. check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • Adolfo : I have order the #94 but I can't find the download
  • RockingHerb : Thank You Berny.
  • Berny : Hello @snowwolf: Pls. check your mail! Thanks in advance! B.
  • snowwolf : I bought the new issue at noon yesterday and it is now 4am the next day. Any idea when I’ll be able to download it?
  • Berny : @RockingHerb: Many thanks for your purchase. Pls. check your mail.
  • RockingHerb : When will my recent purchase show in my downloads. there is a message saying up to 3 hours is this correct
  • Johns Band : Will videos appear again in watch and listen. Good way for who albums to buy. I have Wrathchild - Live From London on DVD that might have been here. YouTube have averts now.
  • Berny : @rocktu: We used to produce a series of podcasts that were available for download on Rocktopia. Other than that, there's no radio station I am aware of.
  • rocktu : Hi i would like to know was there ever a radio station of fireworks
  • rocktu : Hi
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #93 is out now! : - )
  • Berny : Hello @zigma33, you should have received a download link two days ago. Could you pls check your inboxes? Many thanks, B. :)
  • zigma33 : Hi! I purchased your latest issue #92 yesterday but never received my download.
  • daveomd : Got it along with my download, everything looks great! Thanks, Dave
  • Berny : @daveomd: We sent you a mail immediately after your purchase, and have just sent another email now. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • daveomd : I purchased your latest issue #92 but never received my download.
  • Berny : @Hysteria & @KI2000: Many thanks for your kind words! :)
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Quote of the day

"People see our logo and think we are blood-drinking devil worshippers. Which we are, of course." (Adrian Smith, Iron Maiden) - Quotes collected by Dave Ling (

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site